When a Film Blows Your Mind

I watched Stanley Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey for the first time yesterday. I looked forward to the movie with great anticipation. Many of the critics and filmmakers I admire love this film. So when  I hated, hated, hated the first hour, I was pretty disappointed. In fact, I had to go out and get myself a cup of coffee just to stay awake.

And then something extraordinary happened. I began to love the movie.

If that transition sounds abrupt, good. Because that’s how quick my judgement flipped on Kubrick’s masterpiece— hated the first third, loved the middle third and bamboozled by the final third. I don’t want to go into too much detail, as my review will be posted early this week, but I can definitely say that I have never seen any movie like the last part of 2001: A Space Odyssey.

This is a short post because I am moving today. However I wanted to throw this question out to the internet world: what movie made you change your worldview? Or, maybe, what movie made you change your definition of film? What blew your mind?

I love hearing from you! I will post my review of 2001 soon, as well as brief look at some gay films on Netflix (in honor of Pride weekend).

Happy weekend, all!

Leave a Reply

